Tami’s Story

Hiya! I’m Tami.

I’m [agecalc birthdate=”1989-03-02″] years old and live in lovely Lowestoft in Suffolk with my other half Lee and my pride and joy Manny, the Miniature Dachshund.

My Background

Dancing

After finishing High School, I decided to get a job to save money for driving lessons so I could be more independent. The plan was to go to dance college with the aim of becoming a professional dance teacher as I’ve danced since the age of 2 (and I still do).

That's me in the middle

By the time I passed my driving test a lot of my friends and contacts in the dance industry had said being a dance teacher wasn't very profitable for them. There was a lot of competition around at that time, and it would take a lot of time, effort and expense to build up a dance school. Time and effort was something I had but money wasn't.

What I Did Next

I saw a vacancy at a local big high street bank and thought I would apply as I enjoyed what came with working: my own money, car, and independence, and a bank seemed like a good, long term career path.

When I was hired at the bank in 2007 at the age of 18, all my family were really proud and thought it was an amazing job to have. I worked as a cashier and enjoyed helping people understand confusing bank jibberish and giving great customer service. I was nominated for many awards within the branch for top customer service and was recognised as one of the most popular counter staff.

This quickly became overshadowed by my unachieved sales targets.

The pressure was applied constantly, forcing me into trying to persuade customers who did not want/need products, that they should buy them. This wasn’t me at all. My name was still top of the customer service charts that came round, but no thanks or praise was given to me by the managers, instead I was reprimanded for not hitting my targets. I'd had enough!

Onto Something New

In 2011 I found a job as an Administrative Assistant at an office for a small, local business and it was great. Everything I enjoyed at the bank without the sales, the only thing that I didn't enjoy was having to ask permission to book a holiday etc, with Lee able to get up and go at the drop of a hat, it was frustrating for both of us that I had to work around my colleagues.

It was always a bit of a drag getting up early in the morning as I HAD to be at work by a certain time, leaving Lee and Manny in the nice warm house and going out into a cold car, driving to and from work in darkness.

We wanted something to work on together so we could enjoy quality time together and live a lifestyle where all we had to answer to was ourselves (and Manny for walkies!)

Moving Forward

I am now working full time from home with Lee (and Manny :-)) after Lee found a business that we could both work together on from home, and I'm loving every minute of it!

We are personal students of Stuart Ross (founder of The Six Figure Mentors) and are founding Black members of the DEA.

The Future

I'm really looking forward to learning and building our business to great heights. We are looking at trips away to expand our knowledge and I can't wait to get more involved in helping as many people as possible. Lee has loads of experience in earning money online but this is all new to me.

I'm really enjoying learning new skills and can't wait for the challenges to come.